Drunk driving comes with tough penalties in Missouri, but there are some options available to regain control of your life and drive again sooner than you think. A license suspension can be devastating. Not having a driver’s license can affect your ability to work, go to school, run errands or attend religious services. Thankfully, it is possible for you to get some of your driving privileges back before your original license is fully reinstated.
You might be able to obtain a Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP) or Limited Driving Privilege (LDP) under certain circumstances. Here is how you can fight for your freedom to drive despite a DWI conviction.
If this is your first alcohol-related conviction, you may be able to get an immediate RDP for 90 days with an ignition interlock device installed. This is intended to help you drive to work, the doctor, school, alcohol treatment, ignition interlock provider, religious events, grocery stores, child care, and court-ordered custodial or visitation arrangements.
This option is also for first-time offenders. You might be able to receive a 60-day RDP after a full 30-day license suspension. Your 60-day RDP will only be for driving related to employment, school, ignition interlock provider and alcohol treatment.
If you have prior alcohol convictions, you might be eligible for an LDP. This gives you very strict guidelines to follow. With an LDP, you are generally only able to drive for employment or emergency situations. All situations must have pre-approval. However, certain convictions or points on your driving record may cause you to be ineligible for an LDP.
To apply for any of these, you will need to provide proof that you have an IID installed in your car and proof of insurance with an SR-22 form. You can find more details about DWI convictions and driving privileges from the Missouri Department of Revenue.