Any Cocaine Results in a Felony

Missouri has no law on the records that results in a misdemeanor for possessing cocaine. Simple possession for personal use is rated as a Class C felony. If convicted, this will be reportable to anybody conducting a background check on you and stays there for your entire life.

Every State is Different

If you are in Missouri while attending school or on a trip, remember that laws back home are not the same in the Show Me State. Perhaps you’ve learned that simple possession will be a misdemeanor. That is simply not true, at least not on this side of the border.

Every Amount Carries Jail Time

Even for the a first-time offender the Missouri state law stipulates that simple possession of any amount of cocaine will send you to jail for a mandatory one-year sentence, with a maximum penalty of seven years. That is a lot of time to lose for one night of indulgence.

Repeat Offense Makes It Worse

If this is your second time getting caught with cocaine, the prosecuting attorney can jump the severity of the offense up to a Class A felony which can carry 10 to 30 years of time.  For those who have been found to be habitual offenders, the system can put you away for life without parole.

If you are facing charges for possessing cocaine in Missouri, you should contact a criminal defense attorney to protect your personal interest and freedom.

Any Cocaine Results in a Felony

Missouri has no law on the records that results in a misdemeanor for possessing cocaine. Simple possession for personal use is rated as a Class C felony. If convicted, this will be reportable to anybody conducting a background check on you and stays there for your entire life.

Every State is Different

If you are in Missouri while attending school or on a trip, remember that laws back home are not the same in the Show Me State. Perhaps you’ve learned that simple possession will be a misdemeanor. That is simply not true, at least not on this side of the border.

Every Amount Carries Jail Time

Even for the a first-time offender the Missouri state law stipulates that simple possession of any amount of cocaine will send you to jail for a mandatory one-year sentence, with a maximum penalty of seven years. That is a lot of time to lose for one night of indulgence.

Repeat Offense Makes It Worse

If this is your second time getting caught with cocaine, the prosecuting attorney can jump the severity of the offense up to a Class A felony which can carry 10 to 30 years of time.  For those who have been found to be habitual offenders, the system can put you away for life without parole.

If you are facing charges for possessing cocaine in Missouri, you should contact a criminal defense attorney to protect your personal interest and freedom.