Administrative penalties for DWI in Missouri

In addition to potential criminal charges and penalties, there are several administrative penalties associated with a DWI in Missouri.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, driving while intoxicated is a misdemeanor if a first or second offense. Third or subsequent charges of drunk driving may result in felony charges, however. This alone can have a serious effect on people's lives and futures.

What many take as a routine procedure, a background employment check, may end up preventing a person from getting a job due to the presence of a criminal record. In addition to these realities, drivers must also understand that a DWI has other ramifications on their everyday lives. The right to drive may well be taken away or restricted.

Will I lose my ability to drive after a first offense?

As outlined by the Missouri Department of Revenue, even drivers who are facing their first driving while intoxicated charges may lose the right to drive for some time. Typically, a first DWI results in a driver's license being suspended for 90 days. A driver may be eligible for a restricted driving privilege . This may be requested after an initial suspension period of 30 days or it may be requested immediately for the entire suspension period.

What happens to my driver's license after a second or subsequent offense?

If a driver is convicted of a second DWI offense within 60 months of a first DWI offense, the person's license may be denied for a period of five years. This denial period may extend to 10 full years for a third offense.

If the second DWI offense is more than 60 months after the first offense, the driver's license will be revoked for 12 months.

When does a suspension or revocation period begin?

The suspension or revocation of driving privileges generally starts within 15 days from the date that a hearing result is sent to the driver or within 15 days from the date of the arrest.

Will I need to install an IID?

The installation and use of an ignition interlock device may be required in order to reinstate driving privileges. In Missouri, IIDs must include GPS and cameras in addition to the breath test units. All costs for ignition interlock device installation and maintenance must be paid for by the drivers.

The length of time that an IID must be used may vary but drivers should be prepared to use the units for at least 6 months after reinstating the right to drive.

Where can I learn more?

Getting the facts after a drunk driving arrest is vital. Talking to a lawyer who understands Missouri's laws and administrative penalties may help give defendants the information they need at these times.